IDPA Classifier

Posted: October 21, 2008 in Classifier

Even though I’d been shooting IDPA on and off for the past 3 years, I never really cared about the classifier. It was a casual hobby and I saw this as just a means to enter the state matches. Since I knew I was never going to enter a state match, I didn’t make any effort to shoot it.

Since I made the decision to take up IDPA more seriously, it’s time I did this event, just to see where I place. Usually during local matches, my times usually fall somewhere between the MM and SS guys. I acted as score keeper for most of my squad, so I watched how everyone else was shooting it. Unfortunately when it came to my turn, I had seen so many people shoot it before, and I hadn’t really done much this year, so I thought it was easy. The first 2 stages weren’t too bad, but the third one killed my times. I had fallen into the trap of trying to go too quickly and compounded with a fumbled tactical reload I totally blew it. I ended up shooting a 158.93 with 107 points down. The bulk of which I know I blew on the third stage. For CDP I’m only 17 seconds short of going up to SS, which is not that hard to achieve if I can eliminate more of the penalties and hit my reloads correctly.

In reading the xdtalk.com forum, one of the members there (jnclement) posted a pdf guide to shooting the classifier. The idea in a nutshell is to not worry about the time but shoot accurately, especially on the third stage due to the longer distances.

I’m not entirely sure when the next classifier will be held, but I’ll definitely be looking out for my front sight on stage 3 as well as waiting that kodak moment.

Leave a Reply

