Getting into reloading

Posted: November 17, 2008 in Equipment, IDPA
Tags:

I used to use my father-in-law’s Dillon XL650, but I no longer have access to it, so I’ve decided to get my own press and reloading setup. I’m piecing it together bit by bit and started off with the CV-2001 tumbler and large media separator. It has a maximum capacity of 1300 45ACP cases, although the brass that I tumbled was a mix of mostly 45ACP with some 40S&W, 9mm and 223. I tumbled them in Lyman walnut media for 90 minutes, then to get them polished I’ll run them for another hour in fine corncob. I need to head to pick up some corn cob from the local pet store (or Andersons) this week during lunch.

After that they usually come out polished, slick and ready to run through the press. I never used to use any polish or lube, but I’ve read that it can help when running them through the press. Maybe one day I’ll try a batch and see what difference it makes.

Once I clear out some space in the unfinished part of my basement, I’ll set up a bench and start getting ready for the press. I’ve already decided to go with the Dillon XL650 again because I’m very familiar with its set up, operation and what’s needed for caliber changes.

I bought the tumbler and media separator from the Brian Enos store.

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    Yeah you really should use polish when your tumbling and if anyone would like some 9mm bullets, custom cast bullets and jacketed/JHP bullets, please check out my http://www.jscustombullets.com

Leave a Reply

