Damn, Brian Enos is fast

Posted: December 16, 2008 in IDPA
Tags: , ,

I received my Steve Anderson books today only 2 days after ordering them. BE is located in AZ, I’m in OH, so they must have been packed and shipped the same day. That’s fast! And you thought I was talking about his shooting??!? HA!

The 2 books I’m making my way through are:

Refinement and Repetition, Dry Fire Drills for Dramatic Improvement

Principles of Performance, Refinement And Repetition 2

Both books are by Steve Anderson a USPSA GM.

I went through the first book, but didn’t manage to do any dry firing over the weekend or tonight, since I was busy with babies and family matters. I also went to the grocery store tonight and took out the trash. I’m beat and just want to sleep, but I really wanted to post something here.

I’m on page 31 of the second book which is part way through an interview with Lanny Bassham, an Olympian in rifle shooting and a GM at the mental aspect of the game.

There’s a few things that are starting to come together mentally for me, which all started with some advice from Scott Warren’s class. He said once you’ve finished shooting a stage, take a moment to think about all the positive things that just happened. It doesn’t matter what it really was, perhaps it was the way you moved your feet, the score, time, doing a nice fast reload. But whatever you do, always end on a positive note. This ties into what I just read in Steve’s book about positive reinforcement and self image.

At the USPSA match I shot in Pickaway last weekend, I remember one specific stage where there were 4 green plates at the top right of the stage. They were towards the end of the string and when I got to them I remember not having any negative thoughts at all. Not once did I think “I may miss”, or “I’m going to have to aim really carefull because they’re difficult”. I just focussed on the front sight and before I knew it, I had taken all 4 plates really quickly. The positive feedback of ding, ding, ding, ding in quick succession just gave me such a high. I remember taking the last plate and immediately moving on to the next set of targets after calling every shot. Even on the last plate, as I broke the shot, I knew it was going down, so my mind was already starting the transition to the next target.

I was so happy to have cleared those plates quickly and as able to call every shot. That really was a very memorable moment and even though it was over a week ago now, I still feel great about clearing them.

What I didn’t realize until I read part of this book is that, what I just did and what I’ve been doing, is exactly what I need to do. I need to remember the good and only the good. I need to build upon my self image and boost my confidence.

There were a few really interesting lines in the book. Steve and Lanny talk about an example of 2 shooters coming away from a stage and talking about their respective performances. The first thing that most shooters comment upon is what they missed, or what mistakes they made.

I don’t want to do that. I want to only focus on the positive things I did and build upon that. I know I need to be aware of my weaknesses, but I know what those are and can work on those during dry fire. When it comes to a match I’m going to have a very positive frame of mind and mentally bask in the good things I just did. I want to be able to replay them over and over in my head.

The mental game is so important, I want to get it right from the beginning.

If you don’t yet have it, go buy Steve’s book now from the Brian Enos store here:

http://www.brianenos.com/store/books.html

Leave a Reply

