Solved a major problem with my reloads tonight

Posted: January 14, 2009 in IDPA
Tags: , , ,

I used to have an awful time with my reloads. They were so inconsistent that I never knew if I was going to hit it or not. Most likely it would kinda work, but I’d say most of my reloads were fumbles. I’d always put it down to the fact that my thumb is not long enough to reach the magazine release button without shifting my grip a little. I thought the problem was that when doing the reload, I would shift my grip a little differently every time, which would mean I’d be holding the gun slightly differently in my strong hand every time. Well, I found out tonight I was totally wrong about what was happening.

I realized that my reload sequence went like this:

1) Shift grip in strong hand with help of support hand.
2) Press the magazine release button while reaching for the new mag.
3) The magazine ejects as I grab the new mag and start bringing it up to the magazine opening in the grip.
4) Relax my grip with my strong hand and insert the fresh mag, slamming it home
5) Rotate the gun to the proper gripping position in my strong hand as my support hand takes hold
6) Look at the target, extend the gun forwards as I acquire the front sight in my peripheral vision
7) Shift my focus to the front sight as my arms get to their fully extended position.

The biggest mistake I was making was in step 4.

Because I was anticipating having to shift the gun around in my strong hand again to get back to the proper grip, the butt of the grip was constantly moving. So when I was bringing up the fresh mag, I never knew where the opening was going to be. So instead of working on putting the mag in the same place, in relation to my strong hand, I was trying to anticipate where the magazine opening was going to be as it shifted around in my hand.

This is just totally amazing, I can’t quite believe that I’ve been struggling all this time with reloads because essentially I’ve been giving myself a moving target.

So I found the one thing that helped overcome this, is to shift my grip, reach for the new magazine as usual, but now I press the magazine release button and hold it down, concentrating now on not moving the grip. Once the magazine has started to slide in, I can then relax my grip and get my hands back to where they’re supposed to be.

It’s much easier to hit reloads now when the magazine opening in the grip is not moving around!

Gosh, I’m so glad that I was able to “see” what I was doing and make the correction. Every time I do some dry firing I learn something.

Once I had done a few repetitions with my new technique, I stopped my dry fire session so that it’s the last good thing I remember and I could end on a high note.

Now I feel like I’ve figured something out, I really can’t wait to do some more dry firing.

Leave a Reply

