Dillion XL650 Reloading Press

Posted: February 10, 2009 in IDPA
Tags: , ,

I ordered the press from Brian Enos, along with a number of accessories, including the spare parts kit, electronic scales, digital calipers, aluminum roller handle, strong mount, case feeder and bullet tray.

When I unpacked the press, I was pleasantly surprised to find the primer feed mechanism already attached. The only thing I had to do was to mount it, attach the bullet tray, case feeder, roller handle, insert and adjust the Dillon dies.

Set up was a breeze and I got it all done in about 1.5 hours. The only thing I don’t have yet is the scales, so I couldn’t calibrate the powder bar. Calibration only takes about 5 to 10 minutes and I can be ready to reload.

I bought some Clays powder today because Vances had sold out of Titegroup. They also didn’t have any large pistol primers. I can’t find primers anywhere… this could be a bit of a problem!

I did manage to load up 30 dummy rounds, which I will be using during dry fire. These are rounds created with no powder or primer and will be kept in my practice room, away from live ammo.

It’s important to practice reloads with mags that are as close to the real weight as possible because the balance and feel is quite different.

Leave a Reply

