I tried USPSA

Posted: February 10, 2009 in IDPA
Tags: , , ,

In December and just last weekend I shot a couple of USPSA matches at the Pickaway Range in Circleville since there weren’t any IDPA matches (that I could find) being run locally.

I used my Para P14 and ran it in Limited10. I experienced a lot of malfunctions, which I believe is due to the Para mags, but apart from that I had a really good time. It was great to mingle with a new group of shooters and shoot a slightly different style COF. I joked with the guys that it should be easy because the A zone is so much bigger – I don’t think they had quite grasped my English humor yet.

I did find it quite odd to be running around in the open, reloading and shooting, but very quickly got used to it. It’s always felt slow to me in IDPA, when I have to duck back behind cover, reload, then move to the next position. I liked the speed element of the game, also being able to drop partially loaded mags, so you can get through the stage quicker.

The December match was basically a lost brass match, since it was snowing so hard that once you had completed the stage, your brass already covered up by the snow. Those chemical hand warmers were a must.

The Feb match in contrast was a skating rink as the bays ended up being one big sheet of ice with rivers of melt water flowing over them. While this may sound dangerous, no one fell and everyone maintained good muzzle discipline.

One of the highlights for me, was being able to shoot in the same squad as Bob Vogel, 3 time IDPA champion and 2008 USPSA Production National Champion.

One of the stages was the El Presidente classifier, which I’d never shot before. I asked Bob which way was better to turn and he ended up giving me a mini tutorial with lots of tips. I shot that in 8.7seconds scoring 54 points. Bob shot it in just over 5 seconds. I was happy with my performance even though I was up until 2am the night before fitting an S&A magwell!

I don’t have the camp mentality when it comes to IDPA vs USPSA. They’re both pistol shooting sports and should be taken for what they are. One is not better than the other, they’re just different sports with different rules. Being experienced in both can only make you a better shooter overall and that’s what we’re all striving for right?

Comments
  1. Alex says:

    I like your writing. Is very good.

    I am new shooter. Know enough about guns but never shoot anything else besides still targets. When it comes to clubs I am eager to join now. I want to make this my new hobby and I am willing to train and learn everything there is to learn about the sport. I already visited a USPSA club in South Florida and yesterday I shoot IDPA. Here we do not worry about the cold but in keeping hydrated and and sweat free. As I mentioned I visited with a USPSA (ISPSA) club and I had a great time, I felt welcome and people where eager to help me. What it surprise me all the trick up guns. I felt like I need to buy something else if I want to be competitive. I just bought a Glock 19 and I put tru glo sights, got 5 magazines of 15. I am not sure I can spend over 3K on a hand gun yet. So I felt limited.

    However when I visited with the IDPA club I noticed that most people had Glocks with very little upgrades. However the people in the group where not as nice and friendly to a degree quite arrogant. They will help you but some of them will do it with a condescending attitude. Overall they where not as nice as USPSA people. I may do both, but what a difference in attitudes.

    In my opinion the USPSA group are more family oriented and truly loves the sport of shooting, the IDPA group where a bunch of arrogant that think they are all that and honestly they don’t even shoot as good as the USPSA guys. I will keep trying both but as of right now that is just my humble opinion.

  2. idpashooting says:

    Hi Alex

    Every club is different and while IDPA and USPSA can attract different types of crowds, the clubs that I’ve visited have been great, perhaps I’m just fortunate.

    IDPA is quite restrictive in the modifications allowed and the rules are purposely written that way. They want to ensure that IDPA doesn’t become an “arms race”, where you need all the extra gadgets stuck to your gun to win.

    Having said that, you may want to look at the production division in USPSA, as there aren’t as many modifications allowed. The glock you have will keep you going for a while until you get a feel for what it is that you like and what else you want to do.

Leave a Reply

