Squared away

Posted: August 9, 2009 in IDPA

Although I had fun, I had an epic failure at the last Pickaway match. I usually clean my gun before every match but had failed to do so for this match, believing that was “clean enough”. I was also trying out some new reloads using moly coated 180gr rounds. I had not shot a lot of these through the gun and tested them at my local indoor range. The two of these issues, plus a whole host of other issues caused me to post some really awful times. While I don’t like to dwell on the past too much, especially bad performances, I did learn some interesting lessons.

Every match is important.

I went into it thinking it was probably going to be a throwaway match due to possible ammo problems, but it’s still not a good feeling to post awful times. Matches are the time to perform. As a safety officer and designer of 3 of the 4 stages at the match, I need to be at peak performance, that means myself AND my equipment.

I should not shoot matches expecting problems, or expecting to put in bad scores. As Lanny likes to say, your performance equals your expectations.

While I have not let it get me down, it’s still got me thinking about things. If I am going to enter state matches and possibly nationals at some point in the future, I need to treat every local match with as much respect as I would a major match. I shoot far more local than major matches, so therefore they become my training/practicing at shooting matches. If I don’t take them seriously, how am I supposed to suddenly change my performance at a major match? It can’t happen unless every match is important to me and treated as such. Practice doesn’t make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect.

I have the classifier on the 22nd at Big Darby Creek and the OH State match mid September, so I cannot afford to get lax or have my equipment fail, I need to make sure I have everything squared away.

Comments
  1. JJ Daddy-O says:

    That’s why I like my Glock, no matter how dirty it gets, it still feeds. My 1911 is much more picky about dirt and ammo.
    I also shot a crappy match on Saturday, I had installed new hi-viz sights and did not practice with them enough beforehand.

Leave a Reply

