Oct 2009 Big Darby Creek IDPA Match

Posted: October 25, 2009 in IDPA
Tags:

I had a great match this weekend at Big Darby Creek. I got all my equipment squared away, got my head sorted out and shot a great match. When I came to the line to shoot, my head was right where it needed to be. I was focussed, ready and knew what I needed to do. It may have helped that I’d already shot a few of the stages in the recent OH state match, but even so, they were different enough that I don’t think that it really made much difference.

It was also really quite interesting to see how a lot of people get put off by the simplest of things. One of the stages had a starting position where both hands were submersed in a bowl of water. With the 50 degree fall weather the first thing people started worrying about was how cold their hands were going to get. This was actually the last thing I was thinking about. The water and temperature is just one of those distractions course designers like to put in the stage. You just have to recognize it as such and decided to think about the more important things. I was more concerned about the transition from the window to the next firing position to make sure I was going to driving the gun out and could slice the pie with minimal footwork.

The last stage of the match was a quick draw – one round stage. While not blazing fast, my draw is quick enough that my time isn’t going to make much difference overall. My time was a 1.71s which was a very comfortable pace. My strategy was to make it quick but controlled to ensure I got my shot in the 0 down. Taking that extra .1 or .2 seconds is worth it to ensure I didn’t get .5s added to my time.

It was also my first time shooting a match with my new Merrell hiking boots and I absolutely love them. They’re waterproof and light with a sturdy sole and ankle support. They feel more like a running shoe than a boot, but footing on gravel or grass was very secure. With my previous footwear I was always slipping around on gravel and actually fell one time during the SO class. If you’re looking for new IDPA shoes, I’d definitely recommend the Merrells, which I bought at my local Dicks Sporting Goods store.

Comments
  1. Robert says:

    What was the scenario with the bowl of water? You’ve got me curious now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

